If you need additional assistance reading our website please use our accessibility tool.


Governors chosen at Northumbria Healthcare

Friday, 07 August, 2015
Governors chosen at Northumbria Healthcare

People from across Northumberland and North Tyneside have been chosen to become the voices of their communities on local health issues.

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust has held elections for public governors to join its Council of Governors.

The role of a public governor is to represent the views of local people and help build links between Northumbria Healthcare and the many communities it serves.

Following elections, the people below have been chosen:

Berwick (covering Alnwick and Rothbury)

Elisabeth Haddow

Peter Herdman

Gabrielle Stewart

James Barry Allison

Blyth Valley

Eugene Cooke


Ian Fell

Tony Newton

Stephen Prandle

North West Tyneside

Peter Latham

Mary Laver

Robert Wilson

North Shields

Stuart Arkley

Peter Blair


Tony Turnbull


Pauline Greaves

Brian Kipling

David Wilkinson

Whitley Bay

Heather Carr

Geoff Mann

Eunice Weatherhead

Public governors are elected at varying times for a three-year term in office. The above join 14 existing public governors (see below).

Brian Flood, chairman of Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, said: “First of all we’d like to thank local people for putting themselves forward to be elected and our members for voting for them.

 “As geographically one of the largest organisations in the country, our governors play a vital role in helping us to forge links with our communities across Northumberland and North Tyneside.

“Our governors represent the views of local people, influence our priorities and help us develop our services.

“We’d like to welcome our new governors at a very exciting time for our trust with the recent opening of our Northumbria hospital in Cramlington and we look forward to collectively working with them to further improve the healthcare we provide.”

Northumbria Healthcare provides hospital and community services in North Tyneside and hospital, community and adult social care services in Northumberland.  

The existing governors are:


Andrew Gray

Linda Pepper

Blyth Valley

Bill Dowse

Sean Fahey

Ken Patterson

Mavis Wilkinson-Hamilton

Eric Young


Isobel Johnson

Graham Ridley

Sheila Robson

North Shields

Gill Close


Ian McKee


Eric Jones

Julia Mann